Father of the Bride

Last year I was 27 years old with a wife of 4 years and a one year old daughter.
This year I’m 28 years old with a wife of 5 years, a 2 year old, and another on the way.

Somewhere along the way I became a parent and I’m not exactly sure how it happened. I mean it’s not like I’ve been absent in my family or the upbringing of my daughter. Quite the contrary. Sure my 2 year old says ‘Thank you’ and ‘Please’ and we’re working on ‘Excuse me’ instead of ‘Move!’ I must say however, I’ve taken much joy and pleasure in focusing my attention on having her walk up to adults and administer a judo chop in the back of the knee, or announcing ‘PADOW!’ in showing off her new ballerina slippers, teaching her how to turn on and off my distortion pedal on my pedal board or how to smack a snare drum and let it ring 🙂

Again, I’m 28 so a majority of my friends have all gotten married by now (or swore to stay single forever!) It was the wedding that my wife was in a few weeks ago though where the realization of being a parent truly set in! Typically, as we’re sitting and enjoying the company of friends and family at a rehearsal dinner or reception and toasts are going about with cups raised high and speeches are being made, I’m reminded of my day as a groom and I find a great affiliation with the guy getting married. On this wedding however, the groom did nothing for me and instead it was during the father’s toast that I got lost among the chatter and background noises and left reality for about 5 minutes. I realized instead that I would be that man in about 20 years. Standing there with my 2 year old daughter in an expensively beautiful dress and another guy who she’s madly in love with while I raise a glass of champagne! I think I’m becoming a parent! I think I just got my first gray hair by thinking I’m becoming a parent!

Seriously though, I think this is changing my prayer life and my perspective. Just as my wife and I have a responsibility for the physical wellbeing by providing her food and exercise, mental wellbeing by providing her a great education and support and materials but as well as a spiritual wellbeing. This may be a no-brainer for some or irrelevant for others but for some reason this is a big light switch that flipped on for me!


Chloe Pre-wedding Day

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , on by .

About worshipcity

Welcome to Worship City. It is my belief that 'worship' is not something that is confined to an hour an half on Sunday mornings. It is my belief that 'worship' is not something that is confined to a Christian. You were created to worship! You 'worship' every day. You give glory to something, someone, someplace all day long. You may not even realize it but your talking about, pointing people to, referencing things all day long! OH MAN THIS NEW CARAMEL MACHIATTO IS AWESOME! I hope this blog can be something special. I hope it can be something meaningful. I hope it can be fun! You may choose to worship what you like. I hope that God is included in our journey as well though! He'd like that!

8 thoughts on “Father of the Bride

  1. jeremy

    I have two daughters, 7 and 3 (but i’m younger than you!) and I know exactly what you mean. It’s pretty awesome and overwhelming to think about. I am most pleased that I had a daughter before a son –i’m still working on the son thing– because this sort of realization of having to toast your daughter away to another man hits home differently than having to teach your son to flee from sexual immorality.

    Obviously, there is more to it than that for both the son and daughter, but I really believe for me personally, having a daughter first helped me see the weight and importance of being a strong spiritual leader in the home.

    Reply
  2. Aaron

    I am with you brother. I had a son first (7) and now have 2 girls so I have had those glimpses as well. It’s funny because I was going to post these lyrics as a post, but they fit nicely with your post. It’s the latest from Van Zant and goes exactly with what you’re saying. Even the gray hair LOL.

    That Scares Me

    Once I had a fortune ridin’ on the shoe
    Of a field goal kicker from LSU
    I never broke a sweat
    Hell, it was just a bet

    Now, I’ve climbed mountains
    And jumped from planes
    Even played chicken
    With a couple trains
    Lord, I’ve been a fool,I still kept my cool

    I don’t mind admittin’ this heart a mine
    Starts to pound thinkin’ bout

    The day my son starts askin’ me
    All about my history
    The things I don’t want him to know
    The sex, the drugs, and rock-n-roll
    Or the first time I watched my daughter
    Climb in some boy’s car as I holler
    “Honey, don’t be late”
    I swallow hard while they drive away
    How sad my life without my wife would be
    Now that scares me

    This mornin’ while I combed my hair
    I found a few stray grays in there
    And I laughed out loud
    I guess I ain’t that proud

    Some people are afraid to die
    But me and Jesus get along all right
    I’ll be okay cause my judgement day
    Will be

    The day my son starts askin’ me
    All about my history
    The things I don’t want him to know
    The sex, the drugs, and rock-n-roll
    On the night I walked my daughter
    Down the aisle in a stiff white collar
    Just a view, they’ll say
    But who gives this girl away
    And leave her standin’ while I find my seat
    Now that scares me

    The things I don’t want him to know
    The sex, the drugs, and rock-n-roll
    And the day they call another house their home
    I’m hopin’ they find everything that they need
    How sad my life without my wife would be
    Now that scares me
    Oh, that scares me

    Reply
  3. worshipcity Post author

    Wow! Dude thank you for that! What are you trying to do get me all choked up?!?!?!
    That’s awesome. Even the 1st verse!!! “A field goal kicker from LSU!” Hahaha

    Thanks seriously, I’ve never heard of VanZant. Those choruses slam me in my chest of all the things I was thinking about that night at the wedding rehearsal dinner!

    Reply
  4. curtismchale

    It is a big responsibility you have as a parent. As I finish school my wife and I are talking about starting the rest of our family. I look forward to the day that your realization gets to hit me.

    Reply
  5. Kurt

    I’m 28 + 20(21 in a few weeks). I have three step-children, one of which still resides at home. She is 13(going on 3 or 30 depending on the weather). It has been just recently that I have begun to realize how much she really relies on me. The father relationship is the relationship that humans desire so much, and visa versa with Him. We don’t hold a candle to His level of desire though. He sacrificed His Son. We try to comprehend that. It is the Christian relationship with the Father.

    Reply
  6. Aaron

    Not trying to plug my site, but if you want another glass of cold water as a father, check the lyrics to “Cinderella” then hit Steven Curtis Chapman’s myspace site (myspace.com/stevencurtischapman) and listen to it. There’s also a country song called “Stealing Cinderella” that is killer.

    Reply

Leave a comment